Can don't we use typical microcontrollers for DSP ?

Started by siam19, July 07, 2021, 02:18:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

siam19

I'm really new to DSP. I have no idea where to start. I was thinking about using general purpose microcontrollers like Atmega328p to make guitar effects but I couldn't find any resources to do so. Is it because of the low data bus size ? Is it because of the clock speed ?

Digital Larry

Digital Larry
Want to quickly design your own effects patches for the Spin FV-1 DSP chip?
https://github.com/HolyCityAudio/SpinCAD-Designer

ElectricDruid

Nothing wrong with using general purpose microcontrollers for DSP, but you need to choose chips with enough power to do the job. There are lots of people doing DSP on the STM 32-bit chips, for example (like the Teensy boards suggested by Larrry). On the AVR/Atmega 8-bit chips that you're talking about...not so much! Just not enough juice to do a decent job!
Those chips have their uses, like for producing modulation sources, or dealing with MIDI, or adding memories, but dealing with audio input/processing/output probably needs something with more power.

niektb

ElectroSmash has this Uno Guitar Pedal Shield:
https://www.electrosmash.com/pedalshield-uno
This shows that there is something possible in a simple atmega but the sounds aren't very convincing... (Probably also because of the limited ADC and DAC bit)

Digital Larry

I've given my thoughts about getting started with DSP a few times.  Here's one of them from a couple years ago.

https://www.diystompboxes.com/smfforum/index.php?topic=125197.msg1191043#msg1191043

The older I get (and I am getting pretty old) the more I think that this splits into a few main zones and you should decide which zone you are in before proceeding.