adding a 9v adapter and LED to a rangemaster

Started by wsaraceni, July 23, 2021, 02:43:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

wsaraceni

I have a rangemaster clone im trying to build.  it's my first pedal.   I don't really have room for a 9v battery inside so I want to use my kingtone battery box.   I built the pedal with a on a 6 turret strip and have it all wired up.  im using a brown bear electronics pre-biased OC44 (CV7003) and their kit for the rangemaster build but I want to add a LED and 9v adapter.   are there any layouts floating around?  a search left me still looking.   im sure it's a simple thing to do but I haven't figured it out yet. 

idy

Welcome to the forum.

OC44 is a PNP transistor, which means, like a stock Rangemaster, your will be "positive ground." This circuit will not daisy chain with other normal negative ground effects... without some kind of workaround. These include:

Using a separate power supply for it (and any other + ground circuits you have)

Using a charge pump to turn your 9v into -9v. Many effects PCB guys add these to PNP circuits. https://guitarpcb.com/product/pumpd-up-rangemaster-plus/

Redesign for Negative ground. Works in theory, in real life is unstable....

wsaraceni

i want to keep it reverse polarity.  i'm fine with the requirements using an isolated reverse polarity cable.  I'll actually still be using it with a battery, ill just be using the kingtone battery box.   it's isolated and i can use 4 pedals with it.   

im just unsure as to how to wire the 3pdt switch, DC jack,  and LED/resistor with the original rangemaster design. 

all my negative center pedals will run off of a standard voodoo labs power supply (2 plus)

wsaraceni

that worked.  the design I was using had the same layout with the exception of the middle row of the switch and the left row were swapped but that doesn't matter from what I can tell.