Best way to get stable +-9 volts AND 5 volt from a 9V DC source

Started by JK Sleepling, July 30, 2021, 03:28:30 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

JK Sleepling

I'm quite new in electronics, but I'm not scared to try it (Look Mum No Computer). So please bear with me and tell me how to improve my asking.

Yes I am building a guitar pedal. It's a op-amp based parallel effect loop with boost controls for each channel. These are controlled digitally by an Arduino. And yes, it might sound like a wild beginners project, but I don't mind the project moving veeery slowly. And I'm currently a the point where all programming is done (and working), and I'm tinkering with the analogue parts.

My challenge now is to get the power I need.

For the op-amps I would like to use 18V (+-9) for a bigger amount of headroom. I use a TL074 to split, buffer and boost the audio signal. Later in the chain I will have a TL071 op-amp to boost the mix. Sometime later I'll maybe add in a TL072 for phase shifting possibilities.

Currently using an Arduino I can feed it 9V though the VIN input, but in the long term I would love to use a standalone circuit with the ATMega328 chip. Therefore I need to think the 5V into the power circuit.

Here's what I've tried:

Firstly tried dividing my 9V input with a resistor divider giving me +-4.5V. When measuring, the negative volts looked just right, but using it through an op-amp it went out of balance causing the sound to overdrive an make ugly clicks. My cheap oscilloscope showed me beautiful waves on the upper (+)side and ugly cut off waves on the lower (-)side.

Then I found the ICL7660/MAX1044 chip and made a circuit to double the voltage supply to +-9V, using this schematic: