This TubeScreamer screams a little too loud

Started by Diamondj421, September 15, 2021, 03:28:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Diamondj421

Greetings all!
Noob here! I've built a good amount of gear over the past few years (rack mount compressors, EQs, preamps) but this is my first pedal. I'm building an Aion Stratus for my singer/guitarist who knows very little about gear. I've only used a barely functional SoundTank TS5 and the multiple plugin versions of the TubeScreamer so I'm not exactly sure how a proper TS9 should be functioning. The volume with the pedal bypassed is considerably quieter than when the pedal is engaged. I have to set the volume pot to about 9 o'clock for the levels to be about the same. Again, I'm a noob but this doesn't seem right. I followed the provided schematics and just went through double checking component values which all seem right. Any idea what it could be? If this is functioning as it should, what can I do to bring the level down?
Thanks!

https://aionfx.com/app/files/docs/stratus_documentation.pdf

antonis

Quote from: Diamondj421 on September 15, 2021, 03:28:45 PM
I have to set the volume pot to about 9 o'clock for the levels to be about the same.

Volume levels when bypassed & engaged should be equal for volume setting when pedal engaged.. :icon_wink:
(in the mean of no audible difference either effect been on or off..)

So, if Vol pot setting at 9 o'clock is what setting you use, things are fine.. :icon_wink:
If you use higher Vol pot setting, raise R15 (10k) resistor according to your taste..
(always depending on following effect input impedance..)
"I'm getting older while being taught all the time" Solon the Athenian..
"I don't mind  being taught all the time but I do mind a lot getting old" Antonis the Thessalonian..

Kevin Mitchell

Just an overdrive doing it's best!
Raise R14 and lower R15 to taste.
  • SUPPORTER
This hobby will be the deaf of me

Kevin Mitchell

Quote from: antonis on September 15, 2021, 04:40:53 PM