EQD Interstellar Orbiter on Vero sounds like two ambulances (help)

Started by Ad, May 06, 2022, 05:01:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ad

I built the orbiter on Vero from a layout on dirt box layouts and it fired up first try exceeeept if any res. a,b int. a,b or even freq pots are turned up past somewhere around 10% I get a solid, consistent ambulance sweep. There is also a slight distortion in the dry signal when cranked up. I have went over this build 5 or 6x checking component placement and orientation to no avail. it seems all pots are working as they should except for the obvious. it almost seems as if I have a incorrect value component somewhere but if that were the case it would not be doing it on both filters corrrect?? Another thing that strikes me as odd is one filter seems significant louder than the other. I have checked all values on resistors and caps and I tested them BEFORE soldering in. I have limited knowledge of electronics except a few books I have read and some youtube courses. All components used are what were called for. I did have to series two resistors to make the 390K resistors. I've went over my solder joints, checked wiring, placement/orientation and I've tried diff. ICs. I bought some custom boards from JLPCB and the holes are plated on both sides, the vero tracks run on the bottom and are masked. This is my first build with these boards. Thanks in advance for any advice or help. Will post pics of my build from phone. Just to specify, I do get dry signal and when res, int, and frequency pots are almost off I do get effect signal. the rate pot also works as it should.

IC 1
1, 8.96
2, 8.96
3, 9.41
4, 9.41***
5, 8.93
6, 8.97
7, 8.96
8, 9.42***

IC 2
1, 8.94
2, 8.93
3, 9.41
4, 9.41***
5, 9.41
6, 8.92
7, 8.94
8, 9.42***

IC3
1, 8.94
2, 9.06
3, 9.41
4, 9.41***
5, 9.41
6, 9.39
7, 9.40
8, 9.42****

IC4*****
1, 9.88
2, 10.0
3, 9.91
4, 9.81
5, 9.41
6, 8.97
7, 9.40
8, 9.41

Q1
E 9.62
B 9.39
C 8.97
Q2
E 9.41
B 9.40
C 8.98
Q3
E 9.41
B 9.41