4 Pole Butterworth high pass filter using TL072

Started by jimladladlooklike, January 19, 2022, 03:01:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jimladladlooklike

Hi folks

I'm messing around with high pass filters for a friend who wants one and I'm attempting to breadboard a 4th order filter with a roll off frequency of ~150Hz. Here's the schematic I'm using:

I'm getting a very small amount of signal at the output, so this is obviously not ideal. Wondering if anyone can tell me anything from the TL072 voltages?

The voltages on the TL072 are as follows:

1. 8.82
2. 8.82
3. 0.027
4. 0
5. 0.003
6. 8.82
7. 8.82
8. 9.36

Cheers folks

idy

Do you understand the schematic is for a bipolar power supply? And so you will need to send those two Rs (2.7k and 330) to bias voltage and not ground?

Do you think the values you have chosen (super high C and super low R) are desirable for a filter? Don't we usually opt for larger R and smaller C? I'm not an expert....

bean

Just to piggyback on idy's comment, you want something more like this:

Using an online calculator, you can get to 150Hz with a mix of larger resistors/smaller caps like he suggested:
http://www.calculatoredge.com/electronics/sk%20high%20pass.htm
Just play with Ra and Rb values if you want to use a standard cap value like 68n or 82n.

jimladladlooklike

Thanks for the replies.

I did wonder about the bipolar thing, thank you for clarifying. Having connected the 2.7k and 330r resistors to ground there was a bit more volume, but not much.

The reason I have attempted with the current component values is because I would like quite a drastic slope at the roll off point. Having used the filter simulator here - http://www.falstad.com/afilter/ - I adjusted the sliders accordingly to get 150Hz cut off and a steep roll off, then rounded off values slightly and got to breadboarding. Is there a reason I shouldn't use such values?