Need help figuring out OpAmp Clipping in LTSpice

Started by achen22, May 17, 2022, 03:54:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

achen22

Hi guys! I'm really new to Guitar Pedal building.

Currently, I've been working on making a really basic OpAmp based Overdrive pedal.

I started by making sure the OpAmp was correctly biased to 4.5v, and upon simulating it was so.

Now, I'm designing the Diode Clipping. However, I'm running into two problems:

1) I see from some other schematics that for the gain knob, which are often placed in the diode area (not sure how to refer to this place) is a 500k potentiometer. However, R5 (which I'm using as the potentiometer, I forgot how to do the .step command; I will check again later) only needs to be at 10k for the sinewave in simulation to be maxed out. Going higher to 500k doesn't change anything for some reason.

2) The clipping seems to be... uneven in the wrong direction? I'm going for soft clipping, but the left side of the peak is getting clipped instead of the right, which confuses me. Is it supposed to be like this?

I want to get this part working before I move on to the Volume and Tone controls.

My current schematic.

Both 10k and 500k pot:

What I imagine soft clipping and hard clipping to look like:

Another thing to note is: if I remove D1 and D2 completely, the waves get slammed to the rails and everything gets hard clipped. Why is this?

Any help is appreciated, including anything you notice in terms of designing practice that could be improved upon, incorrect use of jargon, etc.

Thank you so much!
Alex.

GibsonGM

Hi Achen, welcome!  Good questions. 

1) make R7 + R4 something like 10k - 47k. I don't think 100k is TOO high, but 10k is more the norm to set the current in the bias network.
     Make R3 470k; 1M is a bit high, adds noise.  I BELIEVE but am  not sure that the bias resistor is usually about 10x the ones in the network.