Supreme Compressor (Engineer's Thumb) Unwanted Distortion

Started by Wook22, May 23, 2022, 10:56:23 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Wook22

Hello all.

I'd really appreciate some help with my build please, if possible. I have followed the troubleshooting steps in the FAQs but nothing seems to have had any effect. This is my first build with a PCB rather than a veroboard which I though would be more straightforward. That was certainly the kiss of death!

The kit is the Supreme Compressor from Effect Pedal Kits. It is based on the Engineer's Thumb, with 4 control knobs.

A lot of fuzz-like distortion is being produced when the input signal is higher, i.e. when a string is played hard. Sounds ok when played gently. Exhibits the behaviour with both humbuckers and single coils. Can be reduced by playing with the vol and ratio pots but not removed entirely. Sounds as though when trying to compress it is distorting instead. Bypass works fine.

Schematic is shown below.

No modifications to circuit or parts subs.

Battery voltage 9.02V

Voltage at the circuit board end of the red battery lead = 8.88V
Voltage at the circuit board end of the black battery lead = 0V

For the following, vol, attack and threshold turned fully clockwise, ratio turned fully anticlockwise.

Q1
C = 1.08V
B = 4.80V
E = 4.41V

U1
5.23V
4.45V
3.98V
0V
4.17V
4.43V
4.43V
8.83V

U2
1.08V
30mV
4.42V
4.42V
4.44V
100mV falling
8.82V

U3
4.46V
4.45V
3.98V
4.21V
4.45V
4.86V
8.83V

D1
A = 4.21V
K = 4.45V

D2
A = 4.46V
K = 4.46V

D3
A = 4.84V
K = 4.45V

Grateful for any assistance!

merlinb

Sounds like you should add the two LEDs at the input, which seem to be missing from the kit schematic (D6/D7 in my circuit). They're used for pre-clipping, to stop the rest of the circuit being driven to overload, which is not pleasant.

Wook22

Thank you Merlin, I shall certainly give that a try.

Seems like an odd omission if it does turn out to be the issue!

matopotato