"Best" soldering tools and supplies for a newbie?

Started by Soulfistication, July 10, 2022, 04:38:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Soulfistication

Hi, first post - very green here.  I tried to find recent posts with these questions addressed, and follow the posting guidelines, so I offer my apologies if I missed something in the forum that someone could easily link to, and which is recent rather than outdated in terms of modern equipment options.

I am an experienced musician (mostly guitar) and I would like to get a bit more involved in building things, doing some basic repairs on my guitars and effects pedals, and maybe going deeper down the building rabbithole in the future if I develop more skills and knowledge (likely will happen, over time).    I understand electronics a bit in principle, but I have never soldered or desoldered things before. 

I would like to learn how to solder and desolder, build my experience on some projects, etc. and become comfortable doing more complex soldering over time.   I am not in a hurry, but I am interested in buying the "best" tools for the job because I would like the flexibility to learn and grow rather than wasting money on cheap tools at the outset that I will just outgrow eventually, or will cause frustration due to poor design.   I don't expect to get to "pro" level, but a good tool for me is important and I can envision going deeper in the future on complex builds.