Gating a signal on pulse

Started by Mo3hre, December 06, 2022, 06:10:07 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mo3hre

Hi,
I was hoping you could help me with a non-guitar pedal project. I am trying to gate a signal (white noise at around +/- 10V) with a short (500 ms) pulse that I trigger from an Arduino. How could I implement this gate? I'm thinking of a device that is closed unless it receives a pulse, then stays open and passes the signal as long as the pulse is high, then shuts if the pulse is low again. The time it takes to switch is important and should be on the order of microseconds (or faster). I have the strong feeling that this is the most basic TTL operation, but I'm a complete newb here! I assume a transistor is what I want? If so, what transistor would be suitable and to which pins do I deliver the signal/pulse/ground?

I greatly appreciate your help.

GibsonGM

Short on time (have to go to work), but maybe you would look down the avenue of holding an arduino output high, and when you want the pulse, bring it low - triggering a 555 timer that is set up to give your 500ms pulse as its output. This pulse could be used to open/close a fet used as a gate similar to the Boss pedals' bypass switching (without the flip flop stuff).   The arduino can be set up to oscillate H/L, or do it on a timer, or by mechanical switch. 

"Switch A"...  https://www.electrosmash.com/tube-screamer-analysis#jfet

I'm not sure if this would meet ALL of the criteria, but it may offer one possible approach, HTH....if this is something you think would work, you will certainly get more info on the specifics here!
  • SUPPORTER
MXR Dist +, TS9/808, Easyvibe, Big Muff Pi, Blues Breaker, Guv'nor.  MOSFace, MOS Boost,  BJT boosts - LPB-2, buffers, Phuncgnosis, FF, Orange Sunshine & others, Bazz Fuss, Tonemender, Little Gem, Orange Squeezer, Ruby Tuby, filters, octaves, trems...

Mo3hre