Aion Comet issue: Please help a noobie out :D

Started by egisseur, January 05, 2023, 10:55:25 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

egisseur

Hi all,

My thanks for reading this thread, I hope you will be able to help me out. As I'm new to the pedal building world perhaps I making a very silly and easy to fix mistake, so please forgive me if that's the case :)

I've finished only but one pedal and that works great. Unfortunately when finishing up the Comet (by Aion) I noticed there was no sound when the pedal is engaged. When in bypass I get my clean sound but when I engage it all sound is gone. The led works and when I'm reading the voltage I do seem to get a reading from the components.

I tried looking only for a finished example to see if there were any wrong components but I have not been able to find one.

An image of the current setup is added and Build documentation can be found here: https://aionfx.com/app/files/docs/comet_documentation.pdf

As I said, I'm new to the whole thing so if there is anything I can do to check or troubleshoot feel free to point me in the right direction.

Thanks and I look forward to your reply!

FSFX

First thing to check is whether you have your jacks wired correctly and whether you just have your input and output reversed. We have all done that at some time.

Govmnt_Lacky

A Veteran is someone who, at one point in his or her life, wrote a blank check made payable to The United States of America
for an amount of 'up to and including my life.'

bartimaeus

FSFX's suggestion is my first thought. if the jacks are backwards, the pedal will still work fine in bypass mode.

but without a photo of the other side of the board, it's hard to say.

you may have a short between two traces, you may have a cold solder joint (bad connection) on a pad, you might be shorting some components with the backs of the potentiometers. or you could have simply forgotten to solder one pad.