Do I have an issue with my Thunderbird LT1054?

Started by masterlk, March 04, 2023, 03:35:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

masterlk

Hi all - I built the Thunderbird a while back and had no issues, it seemed to work as normal. I moved on to other gain pedals but was thinking recently that I never checked the voltages of the IC's and LT1054. Example of my readings would be IC1 pin 1 build doc shows 12.23v and mine is 11.99v and it trends that way for IC1, 2 & 3 throughout all pins. Which I assume is ok? However, the build doc for the LT1054 shows pin3, 4 & 5 at zero v and my readings are:

pin1 9.05v
pin2 4.85v
Pin3 1.0v
pin4 8.0v
pin5 .7v

pin6 2.55v
pin7 1.4v
pin8 9.06v

build doc here
https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0022/3952/9069/files/Thunderbird-1-18-15.pdf?14931847358987224012

I am a newb at electronics so there may be something obvious that I am just not aware of but in looking at the schematic pin4 doesn't appear to be connected to anything so why would I be getting 8v there? My deviations from the build are that I left off the Q1(jump'd the outer legs) and R35 & R36. I swapped out the LT1054 for a spare that I have  but got a similar reading. Any thoughts? While building I measured all caps and resistors. Is it possible that I have a solder bridge under the LT1054 socket? One other thing I noticed in the second picture just above the 1776 logo I scraped the board while folding the legs of the pot not deep but enough that I can see a bit of copper below, should I drop a bit of nail polish or paint on that?

blackieNYC

Pin 4 is part of the internal circuit, whether we connect it or not. I would think it has a voltage on it.

Is the pedal working well?

The exposed copper is fine - if the connection is still intact.  Are there tears in the copper if you look thru a magnifier? Do you have a voltmeter?
  • SUPPORTER
http://29hourmusicpeople.bandcamp.com/