Peach with two band tone control

Started by soggybag, March 06, 2023, 10:12:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

soggybag

I was looking at the Fran Tone Peach Fuzz and noticed it used only a single op-amp. I thought I'd try a build with a dual op-amp, add a James tone stack, and use the extra op-amp to make up the gain at the output.

Check my work! I feel that this looks correct, but I'm still learning. I added everything after the second LM386. I also added a 1M from VR to the + input at each of the op-amps.

antonis

(after a rough glance..)

You don't need Zobel networks (R8/C7 & R10/C11) for LM386s..
You dont need R16 (1M bias resistor) for IC3A.. (but you DO need it for IC3B - unless you configure it as inverting amplifier, to result into no phase reversal between Input and Output..)
IC3B gain should be close to 8X (18dB) for Tonestack recovery..

P.S.
There are some weird item values (like R18/C21 subsonic HPF) but I let you decide for them.. :icon_wink:
"I'm getting older while being taught all the time" Solon the Athenian..
"I don't mind  being taught all the time but I do mind a lot getting old" Antonis the Thessalonian..

ElectricDruid

Quote from: antonis on March 07, 2023, 07:17:19 AM
You dont need R16 (1M bias resistor) for IC3A..
Yeah, what's going on with IC3A? It looks like an op-amp that can't make it's mind up whether it's an inverting amplifier or an non-inverting amplifier. Which is it *supposed* to be?

antonis

Quote from: ElectricDruid on March 07, 2023, 12:47:56 PM
Yeah, what's going on with IC3A? It looks like an op-amp that can't make it's mind up whether it's an inverting amplifier or an non-inverting amplifier. Which is it *supposed* to be?

:icon_biggrin: :icon_biggrin:

Just an inverting amp with 100/133 input attenuation and about 25k gain resistor (Rg in 1 + Rf/Rg gain formula..)
"I don't mind  being taught all the time but I do mind a lot getting old" Antonis the Thessalonian..

ElectricDruid