XLR A/B Switcher with Mute

Started by elbert013, March 09, 2023, 11:47:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

elbert013

Hello All, I am a novice when it comes to building circuits so please go easy on the grade-school-looking drawing.

I am trying to build an A/B switcher that has a mute function. You would think this has been done but I have searched for hours trying to find one and have come up short. I did see a lot of forums for just an A/B switcher so I adopted some info from that. I just want someone to take a look at this schematic I drew up to see if it looks right.

The other image is basically what I want but made with 1/4 inch inputs. Again, I have seen this idea used on 1/4 inch but it is important in this case that it is XLR.

Thanks!

Rodgre

On first glance that looks good, as far as the switching is concerned but there are two other things to consider.

I was looking into something similar recently, just for the task of muting a mic when I wasn't singing.

There may be a need to put some sort of tie-down resistors to keep from "popping" when switching, but I am not sure what value or where it needs to go because I don't have the brain function to think about it just yet.

To that end, there is also the issue of whether you are passing phantom power (or need to).

Sorry I don't have an explanation for how to implement this at the moment, but if no one else responds with a better explanation, I will post a better reply later.

Good luck!
Roger

Kevin Mitchell

Quote from: Rodgre on March 10, 2023, 10:11:48 AM
There may be a need to put some sort of tie-down resistors to keep from "popping" when switching, but I am not sure what value or where it needs to go because I don't have the brain function to think about it just yet.
Agreed. 1M on the inputs should do it.