defx Shard (Crystal Dagger) fuzz->phase gain stage limitations

Started by Itchy Scratcherson, May 24, 2023, 09:11:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Itchy Scratcherson

[update: the circuit design is perfect, the "limitation" was me, surprise, surprise.] Fired up the first time! I'm new to the circuit so just getting familiarized here, but I need some help confronting the integrated gain staging. Because the fuzz section *drives* the phase section, there's a lack of independence that defeats the point of having separate footswitches for fuzz & phase.

We have fuzz_level and phase_level, but the phase level is driven by the fuzz level. When only one or the other effect is engaged, the volume mismatch is frustrating. One level is different from the other, and neither alone matches the dry signal. With both effects engaged & volume-adjusted, it's fine.

I appreciate so much any advice on how to expand the potential of this great circuit re: separate, consistent volumes regardless of which effect is engaged. Stock, volume setting is problematic. I want better control of the mix: it's possible a dry/wet blend control just might do the trick, and maybe implementing variable gain on the fuzz circuit would top it off for me.

Thanks for help pointing me in the right direction! ~Christopher

I mentioned I know just enough to be dangerous, right?

idy

Looks like a cool circuit. Octave, fuzz, phase... and they say ring mod (which you kind of get from extreme speed on some phasers.)

You are saying the fuzz volume affects bypassed volume?
QuoteWith the effects bypassed, dry volume is set by the fuzz's level control(
Something is wrong. The schematic shows "true bypass." If any knob affects your bypass volume something is wrong.

And the fuzz produces no volume boost by itself? That also seems wrong. I see lots of gain stages and no severe lossy tone shaping. It *looks* loud. I would signal trace and make sure all 4 transistors are boosting.