Noisy Distortion

Started by Box_Stuffer, May 27, 2023, 09:18:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Box_Stuffer

Thanks to you guys I have gotten my first distortion pedal up and running. It sounds great!  BUT, since I am a noob I did not build anything into the circuit to deal with noise. I put a 47uf cap across the +/- of the power jack and a 47pf cap across the +/- of the input jack.

It sounds really good except for a strange sound that is always present. It is hard to describe, but maybe like a fly buzzing at a constant rate? Or maybe like a hum you hear when you are near a high voltage junction box. It kind of sounds like electrical interference so I tried moving things away and turning the lights off and nothing makes a difference. It correlates with the level control and gets louder as you turn up the level. The gain control has no effect.

I have read that pull down resistors in the input stage help to minimize the pop from the footswitch. Do they help reduce other noise as well? 

Dormammu

Is your  amp\audiochain grounded? Wall sockets?

idy

No, pull down is just for the pop.
Are you using a battery or a wall wart? You should try a battery. If you are using a wall wart is it a good one? Off-brand adaptors, even ones sold as for pedals, are often noisy. "One Spot" is a relatively cheap but nearly perfect adaptor.

Making the pedal so it is reasonably quiet with less than perfect power takes a few extra components. Start with a low value R, (100ohms?) in series with the power jack, before you hit that 47uf cap. Then add a film cap, maybe 100n, in parallel with the big cap.

antonis

It should be helpful to post a schematic of your particular distortion circuit as well as some pics of your build.. :icon_wink:
"I'm getting older while being taught all the time" Solon the Athenian..
"I don't mind  being taught all the time but I do mind a lot getting old" Antonis the Thessalonian..

ElectricDruid

Quote from: antonis on May 28, 2023, 07:02:27 AM