your expert help needed by newbie here please

Started by Kurdt_01, October 23, 2003, 11:22:22 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kurdt_01

hi

I own a boss DS-1 and i am intrested in modding it out so i can control the Gain with an expression pedal as i like the sound of both full gain and low gain.

I was thinking about adding a small latching swith so i could turn the expression pedal imput on and off.

so,  signal in - to gain pot OR to jack socket and pedal (depending on switch) - signal out

can you please help

Maybe a step by step guide or even a schematic including the parts and supplies (I'm uk based)

Thanks a lot

Dave
-------------------------------------------------------
Space left blank for expansion

Mark Hammer

I'm a little confused.  Do you want to be able to manipulate the gain in real time or are you simply interested in having a lower and higher gain preset, each with their own control?

The gain and distortion of the DS-1 is set via a pot used as a voltage divider, with one leg going to ground, and the other leg going between the output of the op-amp and another fixed resistor in the feedback loop.  It's one of those wonky TA7136 op-amps, so I'm not going to even hazard a guess as to what you'd want to stick in with that pot.