diy-PCB questions...

Started by freebird1127, October 25, 2003, 05:21:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

freebird1127

Hey guys,

I'm fairly new to creating PCBs at home, so I thought I'd ask a couple of questions...

1)  I'm using a ferric chloride etchant.  Is it okay to etch PCBs in a glass pyrex dish or a plastic dish of some sort?  

2)  When I rinse the etchant off of my PCBs, should i rinse it in the bathtub / bathroom sink, or are ferric chloride and ceramic not the best of friends?  

3)  What's the best way to dispose of used ferric chloride?

4)  Do i have to worry about my plumbing being "etched out" of my walls?   :shock:

Any other useful hints anyone can give me would be more than welcome!

Thanks!!!
Evan Haklar
Evan Haklar
What's the difference between incompetence and indifference?  I don't know and I don't care!

Mike Nichting

Hi Evan,
yes you can use a pyrex bowl or plastic bowl. Whichever is best for you. I use a Pyrex bowl.

You can dump the Ferric chloride down the toilet but be care full not to get it on anything because it will stain everything~!!

You can wahs the PCB off in the sink or bathtub but just make sure you wash all of the etchant off of any surface that you don't want it on RIGHT AWAY~!!! It stains quickly and I haven't had any luck washing it oof of my hands or other things that I left it on.

Good luck bro,
Mike Nichting
"It's not pollution thats hurting the earth, it's the impurities in the water and air that are doing it".
Quoted from a Vice President Al Gore speech

gez

Before you dump it down the bog/whatever, neutralise it with washing soda.  Do it in a HIGH sided container/something with a lid on, as the reaction causes everything to froth up and spill all over the place if you're not careful!  Do it bit by bit, but DO do it - it's better for the environment.
"They always say there's nothing new under the sun.  I think that that's a big copout..."  Wayne Shorter

BillyJ