Ring Modulator Suggestion?

Started by james t, October 26, 2003, 11:37:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

james t

Hi everyone,

I am fairly new to this DIY-stompbox thing, but have found it to be quite a cool hobby.  I appreciate the community that you all have developed to involve new people like me.

I have a friend who has heard about my *working* prototype (a tweak-o by Joe Davisson, for whom I thankful), and has asked me how difficult it would be to assemble a ring modulator.  I have a copy of Craig Anderton's Electronic Projects for Musicians, and I know that he has a ring modulator project.

Is the Anderton one my best bet, or are there other either (1) cooler sounding, (2) easier to find parts for, or (3) more reliable designs floating around that someone has had experience with?  

Thanks in advance,
james t

petemoore

And I liked mine. Great Green tone, never really got it to unity, but probably coushould have tried a little harder...I'm waiting for the results to come from the new Stutter efkt [GEOFEX], it purportedly produces Ring Mod efkt. [Ihaven't tried it]
 IMO Ring Mod is really cool effkt. but I haven't seen a 'plethora' of schematic choices, maybe someone will come up with a 'Doubleringer' or something...
 The Green Ringer liked best to be 'goosed up' with a fuzz ckt as i recall.
 'I like my octaves *FTM, Tycho, Bobtavia...but they're just too severe to use with the present lineup and songlist.
  I too need to work up another good Ring Mod because I thing I could sneak that in there without being so conspicuoctavious.
 there are a couple others, A Dalekator [link in a recent 4-5 days ago post] which looks pretty wild, and is named after a Sci Fi films robot character [similarity in sound..'/?']
Convention creates following, following creates convention.

moosapotamus

Simplest ring mod type circuit is probably Tim Escobedo's Thing Modulator.

Do a search here for more info on ring mods in general.
Frobnicator
Green Ringer
etc... and, so on...