Author Topic: Newbe questions  (Read 4522 times)

jamie

Newbe questions
« on: December 21, 2003, 01:46:55 PM »
hello i'm new to the world of everything guitar
i've only been playing for about 1 year and a half. I have a wah-wah pedal, a uni - vibe and this goes into a v-amp 2. I really like the sounds, but sometimes i feel the need for more gain, distortion, octives etc. I want to know a few things. How much does a little begginger setup (and parts for the little booster listed) cost? Secondly, how complicated is this, really? i've read some diagrams and it's all hyroglyfics to me. Finally, how much effort does it take to make some effects that i will actually want to use in my little setup?
thanks for your answers

tonepoet

Newbe questions
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2003, 04:35:59 PM »
The cost for getting started is not much, this is not a top of the line effect. The most expensive thing to get is probably the soldering iron, which cost me about 12 bucks or so. I got ALL of the parts from radio shack (what I could, the rest I ordered from Small Bear, but hey, I live in Alaska!!). The box to put it in you cannot get there, the quality is too bad. I would say probably around 35 bucks with parts that I ordered from Small Bear (pots, knobs, enclosure, transistor). It is pretty cheap when compared to paying someone 50 dollars more for the hour of labor that it takes someone to build this (actually, mine took about 4 hours, I'm a newbie!). I bought Craig Anderton's Electronic Projects for Musicians (you can find it online at Amazon) and read it and try to understand it. I can now look at a schematic and understand what's going on, I just can't yet visualize how it looks in 'real life'. Just print out the instructions and read them a little bit and it will sink in! Don't give up!
Check out my SOUNDCLIPS
Open 24 hours a day!

aron

Newbe questions
« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2004, 01:54:11 AM »
Well, it takes time and patience.