Author Topic: newbie question...  (Read 6499 times)

frkystyly36

newbie question...
« on: September 03, 2004, 03:07:54 PM »
hey.

Id just like to say that i am a complete newb.  This is my first time soldering and using resistors and such...so bear with me.

I finished the project, but i have a few problems :( .  First off, when i turn the pot, it crackles.  And second, the volume with the booster is a lot lower than my original volume when my guitars plugged directly to my amp.  

I had trouble with wiring the jacks adn wasnt exactly sure which was the sleeve, tip, and ring :? .  Which is which and which part connects to the ground, input, output, etc.?  I think this may be my problem.  

By the way, i didnt use a switch for this yet, I just ran it off the perfboard.  I think im gonna re-do it with a 3pdt switch later.  

thanks aron for the great project!

aron

newbie question...
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2004, 06:14:00 PM »
Yes something doesn't sound right. Is there a way you could post a pic of the circuit? What kind of jacks did you use?

frkystyly36

newbie question...
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2004, 10:57:10 PM »
I used the jacks from radioshack.  I bought a pair of mono and a pair of stereo.  I think my problem is with my soldering on my jacks.  Plus i might've soldered the wrong wires onto the lugs.  Could you clarify which is which?

bazzwazzle

newbie question...
« Reply #3 on: September 03, 2004, 11:07:32 PM »

that might help you a bit ;)

smoguzbenjamin

newbie question...
« Reply #4 on: September 04, 2004, 03:13:56 AM »
The lug is usually opposite the connector it's, uh, connected to. If you look at the switch from the side, you'll see layers of metal and plastic alternating. If you look at which layer your tip/sleeve/ring is connected to you can also easy\ily find the lug ;) But If you're getting sound that should be OK. What would really help, as aron allready said, is a pic :)
I don't like Holland. Nobody has the transistors I want.