Newbie question.....

Started by 182201, October 13, 2004, 02:46:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Which end of the soldering iron is the handle?

joking of course.

I am a newbie and will admit it.

AL

Ouch !!!  :shock: Nice one. I've done that stunt too. Nuthin' to worry about it'll only leave a small scar that you can lie about to your grandkids. And here's a tip for you - If you have really long hair (like me) make sure you pull it back in a ponytail BEFORE you hunch over your bench and start soldering. If not you'll end up looking like Bruce Dickenson - which may or may not be a good thing.

AL

Mark Hammer

Been there.  Done that.  Bought the T-shirt.  Polished the car with it.

Answering the question you pose is relatively easy when you have lots of time.  I, myself lunged for the wrong end of my soldering iron earlier this year as it started to fall off my bench/desk.  As a psychologist, I can verify that speeded decisions generally have higher error rates. :wink:  As a human being, I can verify that those mistakes hurt...a lot. :cry:

badperson

I did that, except I had mine laying out on my desk and I brushed my hand across the tip. Glad I'm not the only one.

Good luck!

bp

Samuel

i once plunked my iron firmly back into the holder without realizing that as I did so the tip came shooting out the other end onto the floor.  Thankfully my area rug was flame retardant

Hal

i _just_ burned my fingertip on my iron :-\  It turned a strange yellowish color  :evil: It was one of those "crap, i toutched my iron this is gunna hurt...OWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW" kinda things.  Apparently that reaction is your spine getting the message that you're hurt, before your brain can process it.  Thats what i learned at some point.

Mark Hammer

Probably the only good thing in all of this is that most of us probably reached for the iron with our picking hand, not our fret hand.  We may not be able to build for a while (or cop a feel), but at least we can strum.

tcobretti