simple component question

Started by guitarmonky55, December 01, 2004, 09:49:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

guitarmonky55

ok im scavenging some old broken toys(rc cars etc) for parts, and found a treasure of resistors that are right in range with guitar pedals, a bunch of op amps that i have yet to identify, and a bunch of what appear to be silicon trannys.  got about 10 good sized working leds too among other stuff.

anyways i have some questions as this is my first time really working with removing components.

1)as i started to remove a few resistors, i noticed a browning around the edges near the leads when i de-soldered it that i didnt notice before........im not sure if its burning or not? so i tried to purposely burn another resistor and it didnt work.  is it easy to overheat resistors when desoldering them? if so what are the signs that one has been ruined?  im using a 45 watt iron from sears.......dunno if that may be too powerful?

2)after i remove the solder(i use a solder sucker bulb from radio shack) the parts still want to stick in the board.  what do you guys generally do to get the parts out cleanly without messing them up too bad?

3)how do i go about identifying transistors, op amps and such that i find on a board?  i can figure out basics like caps and resistors...but i was looking at the trans and couldnt quite figure it out.

Hal

sorry the post cant be longer, but gotta go to bed.

1. odds are against it.  I use a much smaller iron, though.

2.  This has been BEATEN to death.  search for 'recycled' 'pulls' or something like that

3. google.  Some are proprietory house numbers and you won't find anything, though

niftydog

I conquer, this subject has been well discussed previously. but, some more info never goes astray I suppose...

it's very difficult to ruin resistors with a soldering iron.