Help with an npn tone bender turret layout

Started by Gumby212, December 11, 2018, 06:47:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Gumby212

Can anyone help me figure out why this doesnt work? Its my first attempt at a turret layout. I made the design myself  and im fairly confident the design is correct. Im afraid i maybe damaged the germanium transistors i got from smallbear (i did not test these before installation but usually trust smalbear). I seemed to need more heat soldering to the turrets, and im thinking maybe i put too much heat on one of them, or all of them... is this a common issue? Removing the transistors would be such a pain considering how i wrapped them around the turrets before soldering. Guess that wasnt very wise? The testing ive done with a meter (i have limited knowledge with doing this) just confuses me more. First off, when testing voltage, i get 9v on the 9v side of the 10k resistor from the collector of the first transistor, but nothing on the collector side. I changed resistor with same result... how can this be? When using an audio probe, i get sound through the first 4.7uf cap (from first lug of footswitch to base of first transistor), but no sound at the collector or beyond. Does this mean that transistor is bad? Its weird that when testing continuity with a multimeter, i get nothing through that first 4.7uf cap... the meter seems to work so im confused. I did originally have that cap backwards, but swapped it with a new one in the correct position with same result. This took me all day and i was pretty proud of the design. I know daisy chainning ground and 9v isnt advised, but i couldnt really see anyway around it, and have never had issues doing it in other builds. You can see that i took 9v to turret #2 and jumped it to turret #6 on the top strip. I took ground to turret #1 and jumped it to turret #3, then to turret #2 of the bottom strip. The last filter cap is a polyesterene? type and i was under the impression its not polarized so i