Help my first fuzz face please.....

Started by Jaden, April 23, 2024, 08:27:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jaden

Hi folks, I am a newbie in pedal DIY and just finished building my first Ge FF.
But I've got a problem here and been wrest :-* led with this for a few nights.... and just so exhausted. NEED YOUR HELP!!

My problem is..

1) Bypass : Works normally, without any particular noise, perfect true bypass I think

2) Pedal on : almost no output signal, these is a very very subtle signal, if I boost it with other pedals, I can here signal but very very tiny volume...

checked with DMM...

1) Almost 0V DC current in the entire circuit when the pedal is on, but LED works
2) -9V at the battery confirmed, and no issue with battery wire
3) measured all components and they are normal..

Here's the weird part: When I remove the battery cable from the circuit and measure with DMM, I get a good -9.000 V reading. but once I connect it to the circuit, the voltage drops to almost zero (-0.2XXX V) and there's no dc current flow throughout the entire circuit.

I double checked triple checked the schematic, but I couldn't find the errors...
Please help!!!!

My wiring

Pcb layout

Thanks,

JustinFun

Hard to tell from the photos, but are you sure your transistors are oriented correctly? Per the PCB they should be facing in opposite directions, but it looks like they might be facing the same way on the board.

The power issue is a real red flag though, suggests something is shorting out or you've got mixed up somewhere along the line with the positive ground wiring (which is really easy to do). Check continuity to all ground points from the positive terminal of the battery, and also check the same from the negative terminal (there should be none!)

GibsonGM

Hi Jaden, Welcome!

This sounds like a short...a wiring error that connects power and ground (or other things that get 'skipped over', hence the term 'short circuit').