$ for advice: Big Muff true bypass / true destruction

Started by mcjustinmc, April 25, 2005, 07:27:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mcjustinmc

Okay, so maybe this isn't so funny. I am a total novice with electronics, I do have the power to wield a soldering gun, but am unable to read schematics. I had an NYC reissue Big Muff PI true-bypassed a couple of years ago, and in an attempt to re-house it, I cut a bunch of wires. I don't know that this thing was ever wired correctly. Can anyone offer suggestions?

THANK YOU,
MCJUSTINMC
MC "this is not improving my playing" JUSTIN

mrsage

I would recommend doing a lot of reading on www.generalguitargadgets.com

That's what I did when I re-housed my green Russian Muff ( http://www.voxblues.com/guitar/muff/ ). I had no idea what I was doing, but once you learn how switches work and how to figure out the Board In and Board Out wires, you're golden.

I don't have a USA muff to help you out, but I can tell you that you'll learn a whole lot more if you learn what the switches and wires do than if you simply follow a diagram!

That was my first project, and I've built a lot of pedals since then.

mcjustinmc

If anyone can tell me how to hook this thing up, I'll send you $15 via Paypal. I gotta get this muff back together!
MC "this is not improving my playing" JUSTIN

NaBo

Aw man, no... it ain't like that here (at least I hope not).  I'll help you out, no charge (obviously!)

Have you seen this wiring diagram? http://www.generalguitargadgets.com/diagrams/bmplo2.gif

If you have, and you still need help (the pcb is likely a bit different), pm me, and i'll have you mail me a picture of the component and trace sides of your board.  Then i'll just draw on them what connects to what, and explain why. Hopefully teaching you something along the way.  Trust me, after wiring up one or two, you won't even need a diagram.  Once you understand what's going on and how the switch works, it's a piece of cake.

AL