DOD Preamp 250 mod

Started by imguitardan, May 04, 2005, 03:31:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

imguitardan

I'm a novice who just completed my first mod (The Ruetz Rat).  Now I'd like to mod my Preamp 250.  It looks really simple inside.  Let me preface by saying that I know nothing and can't even read a schematic.  I was hopeing that I could change a few things (caps/op amp) to get less highs and more mids (I'm looking for a more natural growl/less shrill tone).  Any recommendations.  I'd like to make this pedal more Rat-like.  (After trying many boutique pedals, the Rat is still my favorite distortion/OD).  Not more gain, just more "girth".  Thanks for any help.

petemoore

1rst I think that's DOD 'OD'250.
 A DISTortion+ Type. [diode from SP to ground clipper].
 Find the cap across the clipping diodes, replace with *slightly larger value.
 or add a small value cap from Signal path to ground...say near or at output...input?
 Rummaging around the reads may take some time, but it will make it much easier for us, and I mean you too.
 Your unit can easily be tuned, consider building it's competitors with some sockets...
 GGG I think has the 250 schem, Dist + ...
Convention creates following, following creates convention.

phillip

You could try half of the "more gain/more bass" mod.  On pin 2 of the IC there's the 4K7/0.047uF series.  If you want a fatter sound, you could increase the value of the 0.047uF capacitor to 0.068uF or so.  That'll add more bass.

You could also increase the value of the input capacitor a little or increase the value of the 0.001uF capacitor that's in parallel with the clipping diodes to 0.0022uF or 0.0033uF.  Each of those changes will shave some high end off.

Phillip

Mark Hammer

Removed.  Victim of acidental double-click.  Same content as succeeding post.

Mark Hammer