my 555 keeps overheating in my ugly face?

Started by foxfire, September 01, 2007, 04:41:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

foxfire

i started this in another post but, i wanted to be more specific now. i have tried 3 radio shack cmos555's one overheated and only kind of works now, the never worked and the third works but still overheats. i have played it for 15min. or so without any problems and i've played it for 5min. and it overheats. i'm new to ic's so i don't know if this indicates that i've got a mistake in my pedal or just bad ic's?

oldrocker

When I first breadboarded this I was trying out different 555 IC's.  I fried a CMOS TLC555 when I stuck in the wrong holes.  By the time I noticed it the chip was toast.  After prefboarding it I kept feeling the chip to see if it was heating up and it never even started to get warm.  So IMHO I would say something is still not totally right.  I would still look at trying a known good chip in there one more time.  Radio Shack sells them fairly cheap.

ambulancevoice

if you cant seem to figure it out, just make an ic heat sink but getting a heatsink roughly the same size as the ic and use some heat sink paste or some of that doublesided thermal transfer adhesive stuff and adhere the heatsink to the top of the ic
Open Your Mouth, Heres Your Money

foxfire

i think i'll try getting some 555's from another place just to see if it might be the chips themselves and while i 'm waiting for them to arrive i'll spend another hour or so looking for mistakes and then i'll do the heat sink trick because nothing else will work and because of the nature of the pedal it won't get used all that much so why spend so much time on it?
i typed that whole sentence with just one finger, hooray! thanks again for the tips.

ambulancevoice

Open Your Mouth, Heres Your Money

foxfire

probably not correctly. as much as possible i tried not to touch them with my fingers. i've been using needle nose pliers with rubber handles, mostly.