HELP: WHat is the proper replacement 4 a CE-5 BBD IC chips?

Started by ultradust, September 06, 2005, 01:41:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ultradust

I need help coz I have a Boss CE-5 n I've got it busted and produces some crazy farting sound... so I checked it up and traced that the BBD MN3007 is the one needs replacing. I browsed the internet to look for the BBD replacement and found out that there is a new line of reissued Panasonic BBD's such as MN3102 n MN3207. Rave reviews said that it is way much better sounding than the MN3101 Clock driver n MN3007 BBD's. So here's my problem... As I'm new to electronics can anyone help me if I can replace the stock MN3101 w/ a MN3102 and the stock MN3007 w/ a Panasonic MN3207? Will it work? Or will it worsen the problem? Will it improve the sound or will I destroy my Boss CE-5 completely?  Please... Any suggestions will be of great help and will be very much appreciated. THanks n GOdbless...  :)

bioroids

Hi

you cant replace the MN3007 with the MN3207, they are not pin for pin compatible. The same with the MN31XX. If you wanted to, you can adapt them somehow, as they perform the same function, but I dont think there's place for tweaking inside a CE-5.

But I dont think it will sound any better! On the contrary, you'll loose a good amount of headroom if you somehow manage to switch the circuit to use MN3207. Where did you hear rave reviews about this??

My advice is, get a MN3007 and get it going. What is good about the MN32xx series is that they are cheaper!

Are you sure the problem is in the BBD, though?

Luck!

Miguel
Eramos tan pobres!

ultradust