chirping tubescreamer ! ?

Started by bluedreamin, September 08, 2005, 09:13:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bluedreamin

Yes , I'm a newbie but very much enjoy the forum ! Hopefully someone can help me figure out my TS5 ...It chirps when I hit the switch , engaging it or disengaging it , does it every time ! It is very irritating , I did find and install a new switch but it did not help ...any ideas ? Thanks !

Paul Perry (Frostwave)

Maybe as the switch acts, it momentarily causes the unit to oscillate because the gain goes high?? Perhaps shielded wiring to the switch would help.

bluedreamin

The switch is mounted directly on the board , no wires ! It is an electronic chirp heard thru the amp ....capacitor problem ! ? Anybody ?

Paul Perry (Frostwave)

Does it do it both with battery, and with external power supply?

bluedreamin

Just battery , I don't have a power supply . Are you thinking the 9volt path may have a problem ?

Sgt_Rutters

On analogman.com, Mike reports about a chirping TS10 after 808 mods when the controls are up all the way.  Although he doesn't say what causes it, only that he has a solution for it.  Not sure if yours is modded or how close to the switching a TS10 and TS5 are though....

jimbob

Worst case - keep replacing parts with higher quality parts until the problem goes away. :)
"I think somebody should come up with a way to breed a very large shrimp. That way, you could ride him, then after you camped at night, you could eat him. How about it, science?"

Gus

there is a cap used in the switching section that sets the time delay for the transistion try a little bigger in value.  I would need to go to my notes for the number.

link a schematic for more help.

bluedreamin

Hey Gus , do you know which cap this may be ...electrolytic or ?

gez

Quote from: bluedreamindo you know which cap this may be ...electrolytic or ?