vox repeat percussion

Started by hclip, October 24, 2005, 03:45:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

hclip

Okay, so im trying to build this into a pedal and im going by the parts list and one of the transistors is unlabeled.It uses two other transistors  NTE 6401 , and NTE 123A.What would be my best go for the third...
and if anyone has any tips for this pedal i would love to hear them, some of the parts(if i go by the parts list are a little hard to source).this is my second pedal and im kinda new to this.thanks...

Dan N

Hi hclip,

I have never seen the schematic. Where did you find it?

Someone once posted some guts photos here. One transistor was a 2N2645 which would equal the NTE123A. The other transistor was a metal can BC. I can't see the number, but would guess it was just a higher gain silicon NPN. The 3rd transistor was a metal can and there was no way to see the markings.

The NTE6401 is a unijunction. Probably the oscillator.

hclip

heres the schematic...holpfully if my link works.
anyways...
Q1 is NTE 6401
Q2 is NTE 123A
Q3 is ?
C1 is 100 uf 12V
C2 is 10 uf 15V ... what could i sub for these (c1,c2)
I can find c2 at newark.com but the 100uf 12V seems to be hard to find.

Dan N

Thanks for the schematic!!!

Try a 2n3906, or any silicon PNP you have laying around. Don't worry about getting the exact voltages for those caps. 100uf/15 would be fine.

I uploaded the schematic in normal gif form:
http://users.rio.com/senorris/junk/29618561431s.gif

Thanks again!

Dan N

I just noticed, the electro caps (C1, C2) are bipolar.

hclip

Wouldnt Q3 be NPN?
Maybe a 2N3904?
And the bipolar thing...doesnt +ll+ just mean non-polarized.
Scince the're electrolytic i was thinking of doing a +ll--ll+ for them but from what ive read in the DIY faq each of the capacitors should be double the value that you need for the circuit because of the series capacitance formula:Ctotal= 1 / (1/C1)+(1/C2).
And i dont think there are any 200uf or 20uf caps.

hclip