Recommend a good "real" first project

Started by trumpus, November 26, 2005, 10:59:55 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

trumpus

Hey all,

This is week has been my introduction to these boards and there is so much info here i have spent a fair amount of time reading and learning, so thank you!

I have just recently gotten into effects building and have found a ton of great sites for kits, schematics, parts and stuff.  I just finished my first build, which was a true-bypass box kit from loop-master.com.  I know it was a really easy build, with no actual board, but I have no knowledge of electronics whatsoever, and had zero soldering experience, so I figured this was a good introduction to soldering and figuring some basic "what-not-to-do's" out (like crossing wires and blowing up a few LED's!).  After a few mistakes and a lesson in desoldering, It worked,  so I wanted to take this project through to completion and finish and label the box.  Even though I didn't bake it, it came out pretty nice!

http://www.thegearpage.net/board/showthread.php?s=&threadid=108233&perpage=15&pagenumber=3

So, now that I've gotten this under my belt, i'm ready to move on to an actual effect (hence the "real" first project title).  I have been considering either building a kit from BYOC or trying to muddle through figuring out the schematics and layouts at Tonepad.  I was hoping some of you  with more experience, might have some recommendations for a good first project.  I really don't care what pedal it is, I just want to build something!  I have been leaning towards a BYOC compressor or TS-808 clone, as I still don't know much about reading schmatics, layouts and figuring out offboard wiring.  I don't even know which parts of the componenets are which (ring, sleeve, tip??).

Any suggestions would be really helpful!  Thanks.

Brian

petemoore

Quote from: trumpus on November 26, 2005, 10:59:55 AM
Hey all,