Where, exactly, do I start?

Started by Connoisseur of Distortion, February 23, 2006, 12:30:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Connoisseur of Distortion

I know almost nothing about DSP. I have a bit of programming experience using the Python language, but i have no idea about the actual design/implementation of DSP. I am a capable builder / problem solver, but this is something waaaay beyond me.

I want to be able to create an algorithm, test it to see if it will work, and ultimately place it in a useable pedal form.

Now, i know from experience that there are bad places to start in computers (i started on liberty BASIC... bad choice!) and i want to learn this right. You guys know this stuff much better than I, and you also know where pitfalls will come from. Can anyone point me towards sites that will give me a strong editor (i can usually get through gotchas, so don't worry about it being too advanced), tell me how to get started, and can help me place these created algorithms into boxes for real time use?

Thanks everyone, I think this new sub-forum is a step in the right direction!

idiot savant

I think I'm pretty much in the same boat as you. I'm looking into the Wavefront route. Maybe one of the development boards. They're a little pricey though. there are several code samples on the site, and it doesn't look THAT difficult.(speaks too soon)

Haven't been this excited in awhile, This is a whole new realm to me. The potential for DSP is great.

I'm going to put together the Femtoverb right away.

David

Easy, guys.  We've got to do this thing in steps.  We need to crawl before we can walk.

Peter / Andrew / Aron:

Let's get this effort to coalesce so we can get it moving.  I understand that Peter and Andrew have preferences for the Atmel chips.  However, R.G. has already created designs around PICs.  There are also other PIC projects out there.  I'm gonna stick my neck out again and shoot my big mouth off and suggest the following: