Wiring for barrel connectors

Started by crowsmith8, March 13, 2006, 08:18:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

crowsmith8

This is probably a very simple question, but I'm just learning this stuff so bear with me.  I just bought a used Voodoo Labs Power Pedal, but it didn't come with any connectors, so I'm going to wire my own.  I was just wondering how to go about wiring them.  Do I go tip to tip, or tip to center?  Can anyone give me any advice?  Thanks in advance.

Dave_B

I'd guess it's tip-to-tip, sleeve-to-sleeve, but it's worth checking with a meter just to be safe.  Do you have a way to do that?  By the way, here's a manual for a similar model
Help build our Wiki!

crowsmith8

I just got a meter, but I haven't used it yet.  Any recommendations on how to use it?

Dave_B

Assuming your effects are "negative center", your goal is to measure +9vdc when you put the black probe in the center hole and touch the red probe on the sleeve of your homemade cable.  Depending on your probes, it's probably not a good idea to measure the jacks directly, since you run the risk of shorting them out. 
Help build our Wiki!

crowsmith8

Cool thanks.  Now what if the effect has a "positive center" will I need to wire the connector any differently?  And for measuring I would assume then I would want to put the red probe in the center hole and touch the black probe to the sleeve and then get a +9vdc measurement.

Dave_B

That's correct.  You should probably start by looking at your effects and seeing what power connections they need.  Odds are they're mostly 9vdc neg centers with a 9vac thrown in to complicate things. 

Some of the larger Line 6 and Digitech stuff is 9vac.
Help build our Wiki!

crowsmith8