Some help please, idiot trying to build a box...

Started by MDUK, March 29, 2006, 08:28:11 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

MDUK

Hi i'm trying to build myself a very simple on / off switch for the reverb module on my hughes & kettner triamp. The reverb module is attached to the amp via a phono loop that goes amp out -> reverb module -> amp in. Unfortunately this is not footswitchable.
My idea was to buy some phono extension leads and build a box with phono in -> on / off switch -> phono out so i can just cut the signal when i want. I am relatively new to home made boxes and have very limited electronics knowledge and so wouldn't really know how to go about it. I have built a BYOC phaser (which works!) but i don't think this really qualifies as its as easy a building a lego house. I know this is very simple and all i need really is a footswitch and input and output phono jacks, but i could use some help on how to wire these. Also an LED would be very useful.

So my question is:
1) What parts would i need? Ie DPDT or 3PDT? Anything else?
2) How would i wire this together?

Thank you in advance for your help.

petemoore

Quote from: MDUK on March 29, 2006, 08:28:11 AM
Hi i'm trying to build myself a very simple on / off switch for the reverb module on my hughes & kettner triamp. The reverb module is attached to the amp via a phono loop that goes amp out -> reverb module -> amp in. Unfortunately this is not footswitchable.
  >>I still gues it is, there is no 1/4'' phono jack on the back of the amp chassis labeled 'Footswitch'?...if not that's 'odd'...
My idea was to buy some phono extension leads and build a box with phono in -> on / off switch -> phono out so i can just cut the signal when i want.
  >>>This is more likely to introduce noise/signal loss, running long [even shielded] signal wires.