Silicone V.S. germanium

Started by batbag12, June 05, 2006, 08:07:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

batbag12

I am currently building a Treble Booster. I am modeling it after the Rangmaster. I have access to a silicone Transistor right now, but it says to use a Germanium one. I was wondering what the difference would be if I used the Silicone transistor since a OC44 is about 8 bucks plus shipping? Also i was wondering if you had to heat sink a silicone transistor? Thanks for your help. Also one aother Stupid question. I've noticed from other pictures that all the wiring is different colered. Is this for a reason or is it just to keep everything organized? (Sorry for the stupid questions. I am a completely new builder.) : :icon_redface:

tcobretti

Well, a huge issue is whether the design is for a PNP or NPN tranny.  If you post links to the schematic you are using and tell us what transistor you plan to use we can help.  I built the Brian May Treble Booster which is basically a Si Rangemaster, and it sounds great.

Colored wiring is just for your reference.  I have a spool of brown wire, so for some time all my wires have been brown.

RaceDriver205

Id save my money if I was you, try it with a silicon transistor. (no, its not 'silicone'  ;))

batbag12

http://aronnelson.com/gallery/album18/DALLAS_RANGEMASTER This is the schematic I am using. I dont know what transistor I planning on using yet. 

petemoore

That looks like a Pos Gnd Circuit, for use with a PNP transistor.
  2n3906 is an Si PNP, but it might not bias correctly in that circuit.
  Small Bear has tested PNP Ge's for that circuit.
  GEO of course has the Rangemaster Rundown, it's one of the 'technology of' articles.
  Check out EH LPB's bias for an si 'versions' of the Rangemaster.
Convention creates following, following creates convention.

stm

There are some options that might allow using silicon transistors: