Beginner doubt - Power section

Started by lepra85, July 06, 2015, 10:42:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

lepra85

Hi,
i am new in the effects building art. Reading the "IC-Based Overdrive"  I realized that there is a resistor of 100 ohm in the power section.
In a lot of schematics this resistor is not included.
someone can help me to understand why is this resistor required?
Having a capacitor for filter the high frecuencies to Ground is not enought?

thanks for read!
lepra85

amptramp

The effect of a 100 ohm resistor and the 100 µF capacitor is to create a lowpass filter that has a corner frequency of 15.9 Hz or at least it would have with no load resistance (the IC power supply current and the half supply divider) since the amp is 3.2 Kohm minimum and the divider is 44 Kohm, not much changes.  The idea of the R-C network is to isolate the amplifier from the power supply.

If you are using a battery, it limits the current flow when the unit is turned on.

If you are running from a wall wart supply, it provides some filtering since these supplies usually do not have good filtering.  The resistor limits the pulse current flowing from the wall wart rectifiers and their usually inadequate filtering and prevents supply current changes (due to driving the clamping diodes into conduction) from going back to the wall wart.  If you think of the current through the rectifiers, they have to conduct the average current used by the amplifier but only conduct when the rectified voltage is greater then the capacitor voltage.  This results in large current pulses lasting a short time with a 120Hz repetition rate that would flow down the power lead and radiate to everything else.  The resistor limits this current and forces most of the rectifier current pulse to remain in the wall wart.

Transmogrifox

This also helps filter switch popping when you switch an LED (or latching relay) in/out:
http://www.muzique.com/news/connecting-an-led-to-an-effects-pedal/

Specifically,