Author Topic: A Simple Volume Booster  (Read 6380 times)

Tamir

A Simple Volume Booster
« on: September 08, 2006, 08:14:29 AM »
Hi, I am new here and I want to know things about building effects. I had Already built a booster that sounded pretty crappy.

I Couldn't understand if the NPN BOOSTER is a volume booster or drive or maybe them both.
I am looking for a simple volume booster (only volume) so I can put in front of a fuzz face clone.

I prefer a picture of how I wire everything to everything because I always make mistakes with that and especially with the ground.
If someone has such a schem, and it is not too hard I would like to know :D

sorry about my english, I am from Israel.
Great forum/site BTW.

thanks!

GibsonGM

• more
  • Awesome!
  • Mike Parker (aka. Guitar Mike, Parks, etc)
Re: A Simple Volume Booster
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2006, 08:28:28 AM »
Hi Tamir, welcome to the forum.   I'm no pro, but for what it's worth - any volume booster is going to 'change things'...it is a combination of drive and volume amplification.  The simplest way to boost volume I know of is a basic NPN transistor boost (sounds like you found one); I believe there is a schematic of one on here and there is much information available by searching for "boost" on the forum.   Another one is available at AMZ too, I believe (the Muff Boost - I like that one)...check the links.