Would this wah mod work? Plz hlp

Started by TKS, October 02, 2006, 09:41:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

TKS

I have modified my vox v847 and I really like its sound but I turn my guitars tone control down when I use the wah.  I was wondering if it would be possible to add a passive (guitar style) tone control to the inside of my wah so I dont have to keep turning my guitars tone all the time.  Would the following schem work for this?  Am I completely wrong?  I am very new to this stuff and would like some feedback from people with more experience in this area.  Thanks

lumpymusic

Quote from: TKS on October 02, 2006, 09:41:54 PM
      I have modified my vox v847 and I really like its sound but I turn
my guitars tone control down when I use the wah.  I was wondering
if it would be possible to add a passive (guitar style) tone control to
the inside of my wah so I dont have to keep turning my guitars tone all the time. ...

It would be simple enough to try. I think I would expect some volume loss.
Make up for that by reducing the size of that initial 68k resistor, maybe to
47k. Lowering that R would probably also lower the input impedance,
causing a little loss of treble, just what you appear to be seeking.

Alternative approach, raise the value of the input cap from .01 to 0.1
(just add some caps in parallel to test).
That might let a little more bass pass through and give the
overall effect of shifting the tone response down, perhaps
de-emphasizing the treble. I think I'd expect an increase
in volume with that mod.

The inside of a wah is a huge playground. You could mount
a weed-eater in there and still have room to experiment
with component values.

Lumpy
In Your Ears for 40 Years
www.lumpymusic.com

Paul Marossy