"blend" control in standard circuits?

Started by choklitlove, October 18, 2006, 11:06:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

choklitlove

is there a way to accomplish this?  like a universal add-on that would provide the capability of "blending" the affected signal with the non-affected one with a pot?  a perfect example is the blue-box.  i know it would have to divide(?) the signal into two parts, one going into the effect.  the middle lug of the pot would go to the output, one of the outer lugs would come out of the effect, and the last lug would be the un-affected signal from the division(?).

please tell me it's possible.  thanks!

my band.                    my DIY page.                    my solo music.

petemoore

RG has some circtuits that'll do most everything of that nature.
  Also see ROG "Splitter Blend" article
Convention creates following, following creates convention.

tcobretti

Pete, two more posts and your at 10k!

I am no expert, but I would try a high resistance pot and wire it just like you said.  Another option is check out the Ampeg Scrambler, which has a simple buffer that feeds into a blend pot.

RaceDriver205

Look up RGs "panning for fun" article at GEOFEX

John Lyons

Search Sean M's "Buff and blend" as well.
Basic Audio Pedals
www.basicaudio.net/

R.G.

It's that impedance thing again.

A single blend pot works well enough with no buffers and such as long as
(a) the source impedances on each end of the blend pot are comparable
(b) the pot value is higher than 10x either source impedance
and
(c ) the input impedance driven by the wiper is high

Under those conditions, a bare pot will form a voltage divider from both sides of the pot.