News:

SMF for DIYStompboxes.com!

Main Menu

The Lotus

Started by Peter Snowberg, November 05, 2006, 02:32:57 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Peter Snowberg

Hi all,

Some time ago I started playing with the Alesis-Semi SCR (Single Chip Reverb) and DSP1K, throwing several designs together under an umbrella design concept called "Soma". One of these designs I titled "Lotus" and as the months progressed the design ended up changing more than once. When I finally had something I was really happy with, a couple of technical problems got in the way of turning it into a finished design. EMI issues caused a completely intolerable level of noise to be present and the whole thing ended up in the scrap heap. There was just too much going on in too small a space. This was a little crushing.... not because of the amount of work that was thrown away in the end, but because I really wanted to bring an easy to program yet powerful and high quality DIY DSP effect to the light of day.

I guess I just needed to wait a little longer for the right parts to become available. :icon_biggrin:

Spin Semiconductor has just released their first product which is a little DSP called the FV-1. This chip is closely related to the Alesis-Semi SCR in many ways, but it's a ground-up new design built around a whole bunch of lessons learned with earlier efforts.  As a result, we now have a DSP available for DIY reverb applications that gets beyond most of the previous barriers. THANK YOU KEITH BARR! 8) 8) 8)

Welcome to the (next) Lotus.
Eschew paradigm obfuscation

Peter Snowberg

The Lotus:

The Lotus is a straight-forward DIY DSP reverb built around a single Spin Semiconductor FV-1. This design requires only four chips to build and there is no need to program a microcontroller which seemed to be a big barrier to many builders in previous designs.

Basic Lotus specs:
- One channel device with 24 bit Sigma-Delta A/D
- 1 second of delay memory