Gonkulator Modulator question

Started by Zero the hero, April 09, 2007, 06:23:26 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Zero the hero

Hi,
I breadboarded a Gonkulator Modulator clone. I used a schematic which has been traced by some forum members while ago, based on guts shot by Moosapotamus. The schematic was not 100% accurate, there were some bad connections (one for all, no groung on pin 14 of 1496) around the 1496 chip and some component ratings were wrong.
I plan to post a layout soon, as long as I learn to use Eagle (shame on me, no more Photoshop!).

I only have a question: IS IT NORMAL that the carrier BLEEDS LIKE CRAZY? No matter how I twist the trimpot, it's still there. I have no multi-turn trimpots at home, so I used a standard trimpot. I am sure that a thousand-turn trimpot would be handy, but stock units used standard timmers, so is this a normal behaviour?

I don't know if it's very worth building, anyhow...

Paul Perry (Frostwave)

I have no experience with the Gonk, but it is usual that if there is a trimmer in this type of thing, there should be a point somewhere inside the range where the bleed is at a minimum.
How does the bleed sound with no input at all? Is it affected at all by the trim? Does it decrease toward one end of the trimpots travel but not get to zero?
Looking foward to the fixed up circuit!

edited to say, just looked at the 'gonkschemaybeV2' schem, and there is no trim on the oscillator side, only on the audio input side (unless I am misunderstanding things). Normally in a ring modulator, you have TWO trims, so that when EITHER of the inputs (signal or modulator) is zero, there is zero out. For an effect though, you might not want this, you might want to always have some of the unaffected signal coming through. Maybe George Gilbert can shine a light on this.