Please help a complete idiot build his tonepad Ross Compressor!

Started by juncomatt, April 30, 2007, 01:45:52 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

juncomatt

Hi all.

This is my first post and I'm quite new to building pedals (although my first was a complete success!). I'm going to build the Tonepad Ross Compressor and have a question about which kinds of capacitors to get (electrolytic, poly film, ceramic, radial/axial etc...). The capacitors I need are the following:

5 - 0.01 uF
1 - 0.001 uF
1 - 0.05 uF
6- 1 uF
2 - 10 uF
1 - 220 pF

I'm just not sure which kind of capacitor to get for each value. I'm pretty sure small bear has all of these somewhere, but I don't want to get the wrong ones. I don't have any idea where to start, basically. If anyone can help, I would GREATLY GREATLY GREATLY appreciate it. Even a link to some document which explains the theory behind capacitors will help me. I know nothing. Thanks! love the forum...

-Matt

calculating_infinity

Hello and welcome.  First things first, familiarize yourself with the links up top DIY FAQ, GEO FAQ, Debugging Page, etc.  This one is from the wiki and the faq, http://www.diystompboxes.com/pedals/buy.html .  For stompboxes they say 16v+ should be higher.  Higher voltages usually mean larger sizes.  Check out this section of the FAQ http://www.diystompboxes.com/wiki/index.php?title=DIY_FAQ#CAPACITORS .  Theres a few links that will explain a lot!  Have Fun!

mattpocket

Right, look at your tonepad project file: http://www.tonepad.com/getFile.asp?id=9

Now look at the list of capacitors. Then look at the image of the PCB. You can see the caps are labeled with their values. The round ones with the + sign on one side (you may need to zoom in) are electrolytical capacitors and are available in radial, where both leads come out of the bottom of the cap and they look like this:

They are also available in axial form where a lead comes from each end of the capacitor, like this: