News:

SMF for DIYStompboxes.com!

Main Menu

Midi Switcher

Started by Dimitree, April 14, 2007, 06:00:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dimitree

Hi everyone!  :)

I'd like to try to build a little Midi Switcher like the All Access or the Skrydstrup..that has the possibility of switching the presets stored for the loops.. It is possible? what do I need? I'm a beginner so I'd like to know how to do it.. Thank you very much, Dimitri  ;)

R.G.

QuoteIt is possible?
Sure.

Quotewhat do I need?
1. A programmable microcontroller, PIC, AVR, there are others.
2. Means to program the controller. Usually programmer you buy or make up.
3. Knowledge of how to program the microcontroller. This subdivides into (a) knowledge of how to program in the general sense and (b) knowledge of how to program that controller specifically.
4. If you program in a high level language, you need the cross compiler to do that. If not, an assembler for the controller you pick.
5. A good understanding of the hardware layer of the MIDI protocol so you can build the interface.
6. A good understanding of the logical nature of the MIDI protocol so you can program the controller to read and write messages in it.
7. A workable design of the hardware: controller, power supply, oscillator, etc. as well as the electronic design of how the controller connects to the relays and other stuff it works
8. Some kind of development lashup for programming and testing your code until you get a version of the code that works
9. A final version of the switcher. This will involve a solid, reliable box to put it in, wiring for all of the jacks, 1 par per loop, boards for the electronics and the relays, DIN jacks, power supply. To build all of this you're going to have to know (a) how to solder (b) how to wire (c) how to build enclosures or modify enclosures you buy, etc.

That's about it. Nothing to it.
R.G.