A Couple Of N00b Questions

Started by railhead, July 20, 2007, 11:45:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

railhead

I'm wanting to make sure I'm clear on a couple of things before I slap on the solder. What I'm doing, is building a simple ABY switch based off of the layout made available by Mike Fuller at Fulltone (http://www.fulltone.com/PDfFiles/AB_switcher.pdf) -- and yes, this is my first build. Here's a shot of the layout:

My questions are about the wiring of the LED resistors...

1. Since I'm coming off the positive 9v, I need to attach the resistor to the anode of the LED, right?
2. In the pic, he's "chaining" from one anode to the other -- but what's he using? Did he just take the leg from one resistor and span it across? Can't I just use wire to chain them?
3. Isn't the anode on a resistor always the longer leg?

Thanks!
Maury

snoof

1. doesn't matter which one you use.

2. yes, leg of one resistor, sure you can use wire.

3. on 5mm LED's, the cathode is the side w/ the flat spot on the LED itself.  can't remember how to determine using lead lengths.

axg20202

The way I remember long versus short (positive versus negative) leads on LEDs, electro caps etc, is that the longer lead is positive because there's 'more' lead and the shorter lead is negative because there's 'less' lead.

Mark Hammer