BYOC Octafuzz Not Working

Started by jhamnett, August 19, 2007, 02:58:50 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jhamnett

Hi guys.  I know that BYOC has their own forum, but the tech support I'm getting there hasn't been able to help my problem, so I figured I'd posting here.

This is my first build after doing some mods.  I'm hoping to finish within the next week.  My octafuzz pedal has been having a huge volume drop and the intensity knob doesn't work while in use.  Bypass is fine.  I got 0V out of C7 (see board and schematic: http://www.buildyourownclone.com/board/viewtopic.php?t=6048).  By now, I know there's gotta be something grounding the circuit past C7 or a bad trace/solder joint.  Please take a look at my build's pictures: http://good-times.webshots.com/album/560306559QwnBUl.

Also, I broke one of the 1N314A diodes when undoing the octave lift mod.  I have replaced it with a 1N914.  What effect will this change have?

Any help is much appreciated.

petemoore

Also, I broke one of the 1N314A diodes when undoing the octave lift mod.  I have replaced it with a 1N914.  What effect will this change have?
  "Assymetric Octave" or 'less octave/still Fuzz [probably]the diodes should be sorta matched at least, I'd try 2x same type, low threshold diodes, I think 1n914's could be used to different sounding octave effect than GE's.
  Doesnt' sound like the 'problem' [you can get yer diode in there sooner or later]...