reverse wah ??

Started by 1878, September 11, 2007, 06:55:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Hello Everyone...

I've been reading about Dave Gilmour's 'reverse wah' that he used for the middle section of Echoes. I'd always thought it was the sweep of the pot that had been reversed, but it seems it's the input/output ?!?! How would I go about doing this ?? I basically need to be plugged into my CryBaby as usual, then flick a switch to make the input the output and vice versa.

I reckon this is really easy, but I'm just a lowly beginner :(

Thanks in advance.

Paul Perry (Frostwave)

There is considerable debate (and conflicting theories & reports) about this here:
http://www.guitarzone.com/forum/lofiversion/index.php/t173279.html

Auke Haarsma

it seems most people seem to agree on just swapping the input- and output jack. Easy to try, I'd say ;)

Sorry, I didn't mention that it DOES work for me when I plug in the wrong way 'round. I just want to know how to do this with a switch rather than fiddling with everything 'on the run' pardon the pun. It works less on my humbucker loaded guitars though. You might like to consider this when trying it out. I use my Strat and it's laughing... literally !!

Matty

Auke Haarsma

I'd say use a 2PDT switch, like:

These are the pins:
1 - - 6
2 - - 5
3 - - 4

connect 2 with input-jack
connect 5 with output-jack
connect 1  and 4 with normal wah-input on pcb
connect 6 and 3 with normal wah-ouput on pcb

This switch has two positions:

In the up position (1st) 1 connects with 2 (thus the input jack is routed to the normal wah-input) and 5 connects with 6 (thus output is normal wah output). This is a normal wah.

In the down (2nd) position 3 connects with 2 (thus the input jack is routed to the normal wah-OUTput) and 5 connects with 4 (thus output is normal wah INtput). This is a reversed wah.

Auke Haarsma