WAT OT Message~!! Please help

Started by Mike Nichting, September 18, 2003, 01:29:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mike Nichting

Hey all,
I have little computer knowledge and my home page continues to get changed day after day. I use Netscape now and every time I log on my homepage is changed and not to a good one, if you know what I mean.

What can I do to put an end to it??

Sorry for this OT message but I don't know where else to go~!!

Thanks all`!!

Mike Nichting
"It's not pollution thats hurting the earth, it's the impurities in the water and air that are doing it".
Quoted from a Vice President Al Gore speech

Samuel

Check through your list of installed programs, very often you can find something there that you did not install and is futzing around with your settings.

Also, if and when you get this straightened out, try installing a pop-up blocker. The Google Toolbar does this very effectively: toolbar.google.com

Also, sometimes if you figure out who/what is changing your settings, check around on the web as there are often uninstallers / remedies to the problem.

Internet advertising is getting completely out of control...

The Tone God

Edit -> Preferences...

Select Navigator, then click on the "Blank Page" radio button then hit ok.

Andrew

Samuel

TTG: I think he means that there is some malicious program editing his home page setting everyday...not that it is set to the wrong thing...

The Tone God

I was thinking that he could have it set to "Last Page Visited" which would do that. I don't know if those malicous programs would change that setting, just the homepage. It was just a thought.

If you have some ad-ware on your machine get rid of it. If I found out I had something like that installed I would be massively ticked. Not just because of what it seems to be doing but that software got installed on my machine without my knowledge. Whatever happen to actually having a say with what is done with my  machine.