A noob question from a complete noob (about a/b switches & dropdown resistors)

Started by Sir_Ian, April 08, 2008, 06:07:06 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sir_Ian

Ok. I made a topic a while ago about building a simple a/b switch. And I was getting popping when I inserted the input jack. So, I'm pretty sure the dropdown resistor is my solution. But the question is....

If I put a 1.5 meg resistor between my imput and ground, how will that impact impedence? (remember this is just a switch, so I'm not worried about previous effects coming into the switch, I'm more worried about this switch going into a expensive amp).

I've don't more reading and I'm worried that it could be bad for my amp because the a/b switch would actually be at the end of my effects chain.

Would I need to put an output buffer on it so that I have a low outup impedence?

Another thing. I am about to build my first pedal. I am going to build a Tubescreamer 8. I'm doing the schematic from general guitar gadgets. I'm actually building it as a wedding gift for my brother. But anyways, do I need input or output buffers on it? The concept of buffers is kinda new to me. I know that I need it to have a high input impedence and low output impedence, and the question is whether the Tubescreamer naturally does this. Maybe somebody could point me to an article about how to proactively CHANGE impedence. I've read a bunch of posts using the search function and some online articles about the philosiphy of impedence and why i want low output and high input. It makes sense and all. But I don't quite know how certain parts affect it...if you get what I mean.