PnP Fuzz Face not working properly, can anyone pls help (my voltages are listed)

Started by znowman, March 06, 2008, 04:24:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

znowman

hi, and thanks for looking, ive been trying to debug this thing myself, but as im new to this, im not sure what to try next

sound is ok when bypassed but hardly working at all when engaged, i have to play the strings hard, then i get a harsh sound (bass notes dont need to be played as hard as treble) and the sound dies very quickly (i can upload a few sound samples if that helps).

from what ive been reading and the voltages ive been checking, i think Q2 may be saturated, but i dont know how to cure it, here are the details of my build:

Ge Fuzz Face from General Guitar Gadgets.
schematic: http://www.generalguitargadgets.com/pdf/ggg_ff5_sc_pnp.pdf             
layout/wiring: http://www.generalguitargadgets.com/pdf/ggg_ff5_lo_pnp.pdf

ive followed the project as GGG intended, except for some resistor values, which came with my matched pair of Ge's from smallbear (see below)
i also added all the optional components, except C4 (the cap for RF interference - i didnt have the correct value).
im using a wall wart, and 9.16v is reaching the board.

i purchased a matched pair of Ge's, but im using 2n3906's until i get everything working (if i do  :'(), i googled for the pinouts and im pretty sure i got this right.

the resistor values i got from smallbear are:

R3 - 30k
R4 - 680 ohms
R5 - 12k
R6 - 110k

these values are for the 'bear face', so i think values for the GGG fuzz face should be:

R2 - 30k
R4 - 680 ohms
R5 - 12k
R6 - 110k

----------------------------------------
transistor voltages, which are way off the guidelines in the GGG project

Q1
C = 7.78v
B = 8.54v
E = 9.16v

ive taken 2 readings for the collector and emitter at Q2 (base wasnt affected), one with the trimpot turned fully clockwise and one with it turned fully counter clockwise
Q2